MEETINGS AND EVENTS 2019

MEETINGS AND EVENTS 2019

Tuesday 8th January 2019 – Annual General Meeting was held at Tynedale Cricket Club, Hexham – thirty members attended.

Saturday 12th January 2019 – BBKA Annual Delegates’ Meeting was held between 10:30am and 5:00pm at the Myton School, Warwick. Paul Mingard attended representing Hexham and District Beekeepers’ Association.

Tuesday 5th February 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. The meeting covered the threats posed by Asian Hornet (Chris Wren) and Small Hive Beetle (Ian Campbell) – how to identify each one and what countermeasures to adopt. 25 members attended.

Tuesday 5th March 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. Julia Piggott from Bee Ed presented on ‘The Bees Needs’ – offering practical advice on hive management for the forthcoming season – 29 members attended.

Sunday 10th March 2019BIBBA Event – Roger Patterson delivered the fifth of nine one-day events on “Sustainability – Bees and Queens for Everyone using simple low-cost methods”. Hexham BKA hosted the event at Newton & Bywell Community Hall, Newton NE43 7UL. 130 beekeepers from across the North East and Cumbria, Scotland and Yorkshire attended.

Saturday 23rd March 2019 – Northern Beekeepers’ Convention 2019 was held at Newcastle College on the theme of ‘Thrifty Beekeeping’.

Tuesday 2nd April 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. Ian Robinson gave a presentation on “Some challenges in managing varroa” – 26 members attended.

Sunday 28nd April 2019 – A Frame Making Session was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at Wall Village Hall. We now have a good supply of frames for the coming season.

Sunday 5th May 2019 – Beginners’ Session #1 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. It was too cold to open hives but we thoroughly explored the workings of apiary.

Sunday 12th May 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting – We visited the Chainbridge Honey Farm, Berwick upon Tweed. Willie Robson told us about the prospects for the forthcoming season. Daphne gave us a guided tour and Frances provided an excellent  lunch. Sixteen beekeepers joined the visit.

Sunday 19th May 2019 – Beginners’ Session #2 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Fourteen beginners participated.

Monday 27th May 2019 – Northumberland County Show – HBKA provided a stand as usual with an observation hive and honey for sale. We had a continuous flow of visitors during the day – driven inside by the wet weather – and we sold all of our honey. A successful outing.

Sunday 2nd June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #3 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Saturday 8th June 2019 – Chipchase HoneyBee and Bumblebee Day was adversely affected by cold and wet weather so we were unable to take the observation hive with live bees as we had planned.

Sunday 9th June 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting was held between at Martyn Farrer’s apiary at Rowley Burn near Steel. Ten members participated in a most enjoyable outing in warm sunshine.

Sunday 16th June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #4 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Sunday 23rd June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #5 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Sunday 30th June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #6 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Saturday 6th July 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting was held at the Wylam Apiary when we hosted a visit by members of Newcastle & District BKA.

Sunday 14th July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #7 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Sunday 21st July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #8 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Sunday 28th July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #9 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary.

Sunday 4th August 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting  – We visited Newcastle BKA’s teaching apiary at Summerhill Bowling Club and enjoyed an excellent afternoon tea. Six members attended.

Saturday 10th August 2019 – Slaley Show – was cancelled due to waterlogged field.

Sunday 11th August 2019 – Beginners’ Session #10 – was cancelled due to bad weather.

Monday 26th August 2019 – Blanchland & Huntstantworth Show –  was cancelled due to waterlogged field.

Saturday 31st August 2019 – Bellingham Show – Hexham BKA fielded a stand in the craft marquee with live bees to watch and honey and wax products to buy – manned by Sue, Ian, Pam, Barry and Rory.

Saturday 7th September 2019 – Corbridge Village Show will be held 2:00 – 4:00 pm – Hexham BKA will be there – further details from the show website.

Sunday 8th September 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting – The last outdoor meeting of the year will be held 2:00 – 4:00 pm at the Wylam apiary. Sue Robinson will be describe and illustrate “Preparing for the winter”. There will also be an opportunity to sell/donate surplus equipment. All are welcome.

Sunday 6th October 2019 – Annual Rachel Lowther Lecture will be delivered by Susie White in Wall Village Hall. Susie will be speaking on “Make your garden a wildlife haven – and especially for pollinators”. The lecture will start at 2:00 pm followed by afternoon tea by the Wall WI. Tickets are £10 per head – payment in advance to Jane Hughes.

Tuesday 5th November 2019 – Open Meeting will be held at 7:30 pm at Tynedale Cricket Club, Hexham NE46 3EW – the first meeting of our indoor winter programme. Sue Robinson will deliver a talk on “Hive Products of all kinds”. All are welcome.

Tuesday 10th December 2019 – Annual Christmas Dinner will be held at the Beaumont Hotel, Hexham NE46 3LT meeting at 7:00 for 7:30 pm.

Tuesday 10th December 2019 – Quiz Night and Social Evening will be hosted by Newcastle & District BKA at Summberhill Bowling Green, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6EH. Please contact Jonathan Storey if you would like to attend/join the HBKA quiz team.

Tuesday 7th January 2020 – Annual General Meeting will be held at 7:30 pm at Tynedale Cricket Club, Hexham NE46 3EW.