MEETINGS AND EVENTS 2019

MEETINGS AND EVENTS 2019

Tuesday 8th January 2019 – The Annual General Meeting was held at Tynedale Cricket Club, Hexham – thirty members attended.

Saturday 12th January 2019 – The 2019 BBKA Annual Delegates’ Meeting was held between 10:30am and 5:00pm at the Myton School, Warwick. Paul Mingard attended representing Hexham and District Beekeepers’ Association.

Tuesday 5th February 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. The meeting covered the threats posed by Asian Hornet (Chris Wren) and Small Hive Beetle (Ian Campbell) – how to identify each one and what countermeasures to adopt. 25 members attended.

Tuesday 5th March 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. Julia Piggott from Bee Ed presented on ‘The Bees Needs’ – offering practical advice on hive management for the forthcoming season – 29 members attended.

Sunday 10th March 2019BIBBA Event – Roger Patterson delivered the fifth of nine one-day events on “Sustainability – Bees and Queens for Everyone using simple low-cost methods”. Hexham BKA hosted the event at Newton & Bywell Community Hall, Newton NE43 7UL. 130 beekeepers from across the North East and Cumbria, Scotland and Yorkshire attended.

Saturday 23rd March 2019 – Northern Beekeepers’ Convention 2019 was held at Newcastle College on the theme of ‘Thrifty Beekeeping’.

Tuesday 2nd April 2019 – Open Meeting was held at Tynedale CC, Hexham commencing at 7:30pm. Ian Robinson gave a presentation on “Some challenges in managing varroa” – 26 members attended.

Sunday 28nd April 2019 – A Frame Making Session was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at Wall Village Hall. We now have a good supply of frames for the coming season.

Sunday 5th May 2019 – Beginners’ Session #1 was held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. It was too cold to open hives but we thoroughly explored the workings of apiary.

Sunday 12th May 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting – We visited the Chainbridge Honey Farm, Berwick upon Tweed. Willie Robson told us about the prospects for the forthcoming season. Daphne gave us a guided tour and Frances provided an excellent  lunch. Sixteen beekeepers joined the visit.

Sunday 19th May 2019 – Beginners’ Session #2 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Monday 27th May 2019 – Northumberland County Show will be taking place between 10:00am and 5:00pm at Bywell Hall near Stocksfield NE43 7AB. Tickets and show information available from the Show website. HBKA will be providing a stand as usual with an observation hive and honey for sale. Volunteers are invited to assist in fielding questions from the public. Contact Jonathan Storey if you are able to help out for an hour during the day.

Sunday 2nd June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #3 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Saturday 8th June 2019 – Chipchase HoneyBee and Bumblebee Day will take place 1:00pm to 5:00pm. HBKA will be attending – further details to follow shortly.

Sunday 9th June 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm. Further details to follow.

Sunday 16th June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #4 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 23rd June 2019 – Cherryburn BeeFest has been cancelled this year.

Sunday 24th June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #5 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 30th June 2019 – Beginners’ Session #6 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 7th July 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm. Further details to follow.

Sunday 14th July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #7 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 21st July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #8 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 28th July 2019 – Beginners’ Session #9 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.

Sunday 5th August 2019 – Open Apiary Meeting will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm. Further details to follow.

Saturday 10th August 2019 – Slaley Show will be held between 10:00am and 5:00pm. Show details are available from the website and HBKA will be participating.

Sunday 11th August 2019 – Beginners’ Session #10 will be held between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at the Wylam Apiary. Contact Sue Robinson if you wish to attend.